The members of the three Departments participate in Greek and international conferences, publish articles in scientific journals in Greece and abroad, while active important research programs. Within this academic activity in several of the actions of the Departments and several of its members have been awarded honors:

- awarded to School

2012: Under the Action "Learning 2.0 plus" awarded "special mention interest and potential perspective" to the site "study4french". The site developed by voluntary scientific group of Schools of French of National and Kapodistrian and Aristotle Universities, in order to prepare and support candidates nationwide for the examination in the special course "French Language". (website in greek)

2011-2013: The Internship Student Program of the Department was awarded 2 times for its organization and quality among the internship programs for students of Aristotle University. (website in greek)

2013: The School of French won the "GRAND PRIX du Concours de la Francophonie 2013 – Catégorie Lycées-Universités" for the short film «Robin des WC». 

- awarded to members of the Departments

Professor Emeritus Zoe Samara received the following distinctions:
  • The Highest Medal of the National Order of Merit in 1988 by the President of the French Republic.
  • The Montaigne Medal in 1992 for her contribution to the study of the French philosopher’s work.
  • The Union of Greek Critics for Drama and Music Award in 2002 for her book Τa adyta tou simeiou.
  • In 2009 she was named ProfessorEmeritus of the Department of French Language and Literature, by the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens.

Professor Emeritus Vasso Tokatlidou received the following distinctions:
  • 1974, "Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques": Medal of the French Government for her contribution to the French culture.
  • 1989, "Officier de l’Ordre National du Mérite" : Medal of the French Government for her scientific contribution to the French language. 
  • 1994, "Erasmus Prize": Award of the European Commission  for her action promoting and disseminating the mobility ERASMUS Programme  between Universities.
  • 1995, "Medal of the City of Thessaloniki": Award of the Municipality of Thessaloniki for her action promoting the idea of the European union.
  • 2005, "Medal of Honour" of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki for having been « one of those who inspired and promoted the institution of the Student’s Week during the years 1955-1960".
  • 2007, “Honorary plaque” of the ROTARY International-Thessaloniki for her action in the Education and the Culture domain.

Professor Emeritus Athanasia Tsatsakou received the following distinctions
  • 2009, The Knight in the Order of Academic Palms Award by the French government on her contribution to French letters.

Professor Giorgos Freris received the following distinctions
  • 2003, The Knight in the Order of Academic Palms Award by the French government for his contribution to French letters.
  • 2007, He was honoured by the Publishers’ Association of Northern Greece for his contribution to Greek letters.
  • 2008-2010, He was President of the Société Internationale des Etudes Giralduciennes.
Assistant Professor Titika Dimitroulia received the following distinctions
  • 2008, Literary Translation Award. European Translation Center - Literature and Human Sciences (EKEMEL)
  • 2012, "Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques": Medal of the French Government for her contribution to the French culture. 



We have 41 guests and no members online

Get in touch

(+30) 2310-995176

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.